Former CM Karpoori Thakur Selected for Bharat Ratna Award 2024, Know Here More About Him

Karpoori Thákur, a Gandhian socialist leader who was a former Bihar Chief Minister and a prominent Gandhian socialist leader, will receive the “Bharat Ratna” posthumously.

He was chief minister between December 1970 and June 1971, as well as from December 1977 until April 1979. Karpoori Thakur died on 17 February 1988

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. It has been awarded to 49 people, 17 of whom were posthumously. Established in 1954, this award is open to everyone, regardless of gender, race, occupation or position.

The award recognizes outstanding performance or service in any area of human endeavour. No formal recommendation is required. The Prime Minister makes recommendations to the President directly. The maximum number of awards per year is three.

Upon receiving the award, the recipient receives a Sanad, a certificate signed by the President, and a medallion. According to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), there is no monetary award with the Bharat Ratna.

Rashtrapati Bhavan said, “The President is pleased to award Bharat Ratna (posthumously) to Shri Karpoori Thakur.”

“I am thrilled that the Government of India decided to award Bharat Ratna to the beacon of social injustice, the great Jan Nayak Karpoori Thakur Ji. And that too as we celebrate his centennial.

This prestigious award is a testimony to his enduring work as a champion of the marginalised and a stalwart for equality and empowerment”, Prime Minister Narendra Modi posted on X.

“His unwavering dedication to the upliftment of the downtrodden and his visionary leadership has left an indelible stamp on India’s social-political fabric.” This award honours his contributions and inspires him to continue his mission of creating a just and equitable society, ” PM Modi said.

Karpoori Thakur’s Fight For Social Justice

Karpoori, born in Bihar’s Samastipur District, became involved with India’s struggle for independence very young. During the Quit-India Movement, Karpoori Thakur was imprisoned along with other freedom fighters. He continued to fight for the Britishers’ expulsion from the country.

After his first victory in 1952, he won every election due to the widespread appeal of his modest lifestyle and his unwavering commitment to promoting social injustice.

Karpoori Thákur was a strong advocate for marginalised groups, such as scheduled castes and scheduled tribes. His political philosophy was driven by his commitment to social equity and inclusive development.

His 100th birthday is on 24 January.

Nitish Kumar Is Elated After Karpoori Thakur Receives Bharat Ratna

On Tuesday, Nitish Kumar, the Chief Minister of Bihar, welcomed the decision to award Bharat Ratna to former CM Karpoori Thakur on Tuesday. The ruling Janata Dal United said the announcement fulfilled the party’s long-standing demand and would “send a message of hope among the deprived sections of society.”

“I’ve always demanded the Bharat Ratna for Karpoori Thakur. Nitish Kumru said, “I am delighted that the announcement comes just before his 100th birthday.

What is Bharat Ratna? 

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civil award in India. It was established in 1954. The Bharat Ratna Award recognizes people who have excelled in literature, science, and art.

The Bharat Ratna is open to everyone regardless of occupation, gender, or position. The Bharat Ratna is only given to a maximum of three people annually. The President of India presents the Bharat Ratna Award. The Bharat Ratna award can also be given posthumously.

About Bharat Ratna Award 

Only three Bharat ratna awards can be given in a single year. According to the constitution, the Bharat ratna can’t be used to prefix or suffix the recipient’s name. The awardee receives a certificate or sanad signed by the President and a medal.

The medal is shaped like a peepal, which measures 5.8 cm in length, 4.7 cm in width, and 3.1 mm in thickness. The award is bronze, and the image of a sun, measuring 1.6 cm across, is embossed in the centre. The state emblem of the country and its Moto are written on the reverse side of the medal in Devnagri.

Source: Google

The First Person Whom Get Bharat Ratna Awards

In 1954, the first Bharat Ratna Award was given to C. Rajagopalachari (politician ), Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (philosopher ), and CV Raman, a scientist.

Source: Google

List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners From 1954 to 2024

  1. Chakaravartirajagopalachari – 1954
  2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan – 1954
  3. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (physicist)- 1954
  4. Bhagwan Das (Independence activist and philosopher) – 1955
  5. Mokshagundam visvesvaraya – 1955
  6. Jawaharlal (independence activist, writer, and former prime minister of India).
  7. Govind Ballabh Pant – 1957
  8. Dhondo Keshav (Social reformer, educator, and educator) – 1958
  9. Bidhan Chandra (physician and political leader)- 1961
  10. Purushottam das Tandon (Independence activists) – 1961
  11. Rajendra Prasad (independence activist, lawyer, and statesman; former President of India), 1962
  12. Zakir Husain (Independence activist), 1963
  13. Pandurang Vaman Kane (Indologist and Sanskrit scholar) -1963
  14. Lal Bahadur Shastri – Posthumous (Independence activist, former Indian Prime Minister) – 1966
  15. Indira Gandhi, politician and former prime minister of India, -1971
  16. Varahagiri Venkata giri (Independence activist, former President of India) (1975
  17. Kumaraswamy Kamraj, (posthumous) (politician former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister) 1976
  18. Mother Mary Teresa Bojaxhiu – 1980
  19. Vinoba Bhave, (Posthumous), (Independent activist and social reformer), -1983
  20. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan – 1987
  21. Marudur Ramachandran, (Posthumous), (actor and politician) -1988
  22. Bhim Rao Ramji Ambedkar (Posthumous) (Social reformer) -1990
  23. Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela (anti-apartheid activist) – 1990
  24. Rajiv (Posthumous), (politician, former Prime Minister of India – 1991
  25. Sardar Vallabhbhai (Posthumous), (Independence activist) 1991
  26. Morarji Ranchhodji Desai – 1991
  27. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Posthumous), (Independence activist), -1992
  28. Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata (Industrialist) – 1992
  29. Satyajit Ray (Filmmaker) – 1992
  30. Gulzari lal Nanda – 1997
  31. Aruna Asaf Ali (Posthumous) (Independence activist) – 1997
  32. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam is a former president of India and a scientist in aerospace and defence.
  33. Madurai Shanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi – 1998
  34. Chidambaram subramaniam (Independence activists) – 1998
  35. Jayaprakash Narayan (Posthumous) (Independence activist, social reformer) – 1999
  36. Amartya Sen (economist) – 1999
  37. Lokpriya Gopinath Boroloi – Posthumous (Independence activist).
  38. Ravi Shankar (sitar player) – 1999
  39. Lata Dinanath Mangeshkar (playback singer) – 2001
  40. Ustad Bismillah Khan (Hindustani classical shehnai player) – 2001
  41. Bhimsen Joshi (Hindustani Classical Vocalist) – 2009
  42. C. N. R. Rao – 2014
  43. Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (cricketer) – 2014
  44. Atal Bihari Vajpayee, politician and former Indian Prime Minister (2015
  45. Madan Mohan Malaviya – (Scholar, educator, and reformer of education) – 2015
  46. Nanaji Deshmukh (Posthumous) (social activist) – 2019
  47. Bhupendra Hazarika (Posthumous) (playback singers, lyricists, musicians, poets, and filmmakers) – 2019.
  48. Pranab Mukherjee (politician, former President of India)
  49. Karpoori Thakur (Posthumous), (politician, former Bihar Chief Minister) – 2024


Leave a Comment

जाने March 2024 में रिलीज होने वाली इन ब्लॉकबस्टर मूवी के बारे में जाने भारत के इन 5 मंदिरों के बारे में जहां रोज बनता है इतने लोगों का खाना TATA WPL 2024 Prize Money: जीतने वाली टीम को मिलेंगे इतने रुपये TATA WPL 2024 Qualified Teams for Playoffs Know Here AGNI – 5 Missile Specification & Features