Champions Trophy 2025: Teams, Format & More

The top seven teams in the ODI World Cup 2023 league stage will qualify for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, which will be held in Pakistan. Pakistan will qualify directly for the eight-team tournament as the host of the 2025 edition.

A report in Trendsmyth stated that an ICC spokesperson claimed the 2025 Champions Trophy qualification format was approved by the ICC Board back in 2021. In 2021, the ICC announced that the Champions Trophy – often referred to as a mini-World Cup – would be returning for the cricketing cycle 2024-31.

It would be a shame for teams such as West Indies or Zimbabwe, who are Full Members of the ICC, to miss out on qualifying.

In November 2021, the ICC announced a number of tournaments for both men and women in the upcoming cycle. The ICC announced in November 2021 that multiple tournaments for men and women would be held in the upcoming seven-year cycle.

The ICC informed the public that the tournament would follow the same format. Eight teams will compete in a group-stage format followed by semi-finals and a finale. In 2013 and 2017, the eight top teams from the ICC rankings qualified for the Champions Trophy.

According to TrendsMyth, the ICC chief executive committee has approved the decision that the top seven teams from the 2023 World Cup will qualify for the Champions Trophy in 2025, along with the hosts Pakistan.

Pakistan is also the defending champions, having won last year’s edition after defeating India by 180 runs in Edgbaston at The Oval.

Champions Trophy 2025 Teams

This cricketing competition was first known as the ICC Knockout. It debuted in Dhaka in Bangladesh in 1998 and then moved to Nairobi in Kenya in 2000. In 2002, the competition was renamed the ICC Champions Trophy.

The tournament was initially held every two years. Still, in 2009, the event in Pakistan was canceled, and the tournament moved to South Africa. The ICC Champions Trophy has been held every four years since 2009. The path to the 2025 edition will feature the host nation Pakistan and the elite, the top seven teams of the ICC ODI World Cup group stage 2023.

Cricket Champions Trophy 2025 Format

The ICC Champions Trophy 2025 will follow a classic structure. The Champions Trophy in 2025 will consist of four teams divided into two groups. The top two performers from both groups will advance to the semi-finals and the grand finale. It’s important to note that the new qualification system, which was approved by the ICC board in 2021, may pose a challenge to teams like England and Bangladesh, who are vying for a coveted place in the Champions Trophy.

The Champions Trophy is Back

ICC announced its plans for a cycle of global sports events that will span from 2024-2031 in November 2021. Two editions of the ICC Champions Trophy, to be held between 2025 and 2030, were also announced.

The format of the 2025 and 2020 Champions Trophies is similar to previous editions. The tournament will consist of eight teams divided into two groups, with four teams in each group, then the knockout stage, which includes the semi-finals and final.

The previous editions of the Champions Trophy, in 2013 and 2017, were based upon the eight highest-ranked teams in One Day International (ODI) at a certain cut-off point.

For the 2025 edition, however, a new approach was adopted. According to The TrendsMyth, the chief executive committee of the ICC approved the decision in November 2021 to allow the seven top teams to qualify for the 2025 Champions trophy.

England and Bangladesh, two test-playing nations, are in danger of losing the Champions Trophy should they not finish among the top seven at the World Cup’s group stage. Moreover, full member nations such as West Indies and Zimbabwe will be automatically eliminated from the race because they did not qualify for the World Cup in 2023.

Source: Google

What Is The Format And Qualification Process for the ICC World Cup 2027?

Eight of the top-ranked teams from the One Day International rankings (ODIs) as of March 31, 2027, will qualify directly for the Men’s ODI World Cup 2027. The tournament is co-hosted with South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia.

Global qualifier tournaments will determine the remaining four teams. These tournaments are a way for teams to qualify for the World Cup.



2 thoughts on “Champions Trophy 2025: Teams, Format & More”

Leave a Comment

जाने March 2024 में रिलीज होने वाली इन ब्लॉकबस्टर मूवी के बारे में जाने भारत के इन 5 मंदिरों के बारे में जहां रोज बनता है इतने लोगों का खाना TATA WPL 2024 Prize Money: जीतने वाली टीम को मिलेंगे इतने रुपये TATA WPL 2024 Qualified Teams for Playoffs Know Here AGNI – 5 Missile Specification & Features